Library Guides: Chemistry: Journals, Protocols, & Services

Databases and Journals

SciFinder-n
Note: Some users are experiencing difficulty logging in as of Aug. 27, 2024. If you need assistance, please email Lauren Marshall
Members of the JCU community must use their JCU email to create a username and password on campus prior to use using the link in the entry "SciFinder Registration Link" listed below. SciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature. You can search by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number. Using the CASDraw Editor or importing from ChemDraw, you can also search by chemical structures, substructures, or reactions.
SciFinder-n Registration link
JCU user must create an account from on campus before using SciFinder database. If you're not able to create an account from on campus or through VPN, please contact the library.
Web of Science
Abstracts and indexes the world's leading scientific and technical journals. To find the full text of articles indexed here, see the A to Z Journal Finder on the left of this page. If the title is not available in Grasselli Library, use InterLibrary Loan to request a copy.
Annual Reviews
Collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
PubMed
A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Protocols and Patents

Derwent Innovations Index
Now part of Web of Science, the Derwent Innovations Index analyzes, abstracts and indexes nearly 90,000 new patent publications every week. Provides unique value-added patent information indexed from over 50 patent issuing authorities.
Springer Nature Experiments
An electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.
Compiles protocols from Humanas successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals, Springer Protocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab.