Library Guides: Films at Grasselli: Introduction

Grasselli Library has a variety of options for video resource access. This includes streaming services from multiple providers, DVDs, and videos available in various databases. We also have portable DVD players to check out at the Help Desk!

Searching for Films at Grasselli

From the library's home page: https://researchguides.jcu.edu/libraryhomepage/

In the "simple search" box type your keyword search. Hit "enter" or click the magnifying glass.
Once you are taken into the search results, use the "video/film" button just below the search box to limit to videos.

Further limit by clicking filters to the left, such as "available online" for streaming films, or under the "Location @Grasselli" and then "media collection" for DVDs.
You can also use the advanced search to be more specific about searching title, creators, exact phrases, etc.

Directly from the main search page: https://ohiolink-jcu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01OHIOLINK_JCU:JCU

In the search box, type your search terms. Hit "enter" or click the magnifying glass.
Use the "video/film" button just below the search box to limit to videos.
Further limit by clicking filters to the left, such as "available online" for streaming films, or under the "Location @Grasselli" and then "media collection" for DVDs.
You can also use the advanced search to be more specific about searching title, creators, exact phrases, etc.

Not finding what you need? We're here to help! Contact us info at left of this page

Streaming Video from Grasselli

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Streaming service for video content spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Faculty can also leverage video interaction tools for collaboration, reflection, and assessment of student knowledge by embedding discussion prompts, multiple choice, polling, and more into videos and access real-time analytics to see student responses and adapt teaching based on student comprehension. Student results can be reported in the LMS gradebook, and faculty will have access to real-time analytics, to adapt their teaching based on student results to facilitate improved learning outcomes. (requires faculty to create a personal account)

AVON can also provide Audio-Described Video with added narration that describes on-screen images for the benefit of those with visual impairments. Audio descriptions are already available for many titles, and description can be added upon request by a library at no charge. This service may take 2-3 weeks to complete, so please notify a librarian in advance if you are aware of needing this service.

Kanopy
These films are available on a “by request” basis. Just click the “request access” button and fill out the form to be reviewed by a librarian. You will be notified when the film has been leased for viewing, usually within 3-5 working days. If the film has already been leased, it will be available for viewing by anyone during the lease period. These films are all genres - from documentaries to movies and training videos - and touch on a broad spectrum of topics. The platform features include captions, transcripts, clip/playlist creation tools, etc. In order to create playlists/clips you need to create a free account in Kanopy.

Attention: Effective Jun 1, 2024, the library will move to a mediated model for videos requested through Kanopy. These videos will require requesting access in advance of the time of need. Please send requests for known needs as far in advance as possible to ensure access when needed. When on the Kanopy site, clicking on an unlicensed film will result in a request form being presented to the user, which can be filled out to request access. This information, including the reason for the request, will be sent to a librarian. The requestor will be notified of approval, and activation should occur within 3-5 business days of requesting. Once a video has been leased, anyone will be able to watch it for the duration of the lease (typically one year) without re-requesting it.
Changing to mediated access will allow Grasselli Library to continue to make Kanopy titles available in support of the academic curriculum, and manage streaming video costs. This change will allow us to focus library expenditures on teaching and learning purposes. For personal entertainment purposes, we encourage users to see what their public library has to offer!

Kanopy Troubleshooting
Here are some troubleshooting tips for Kanopy issues. But please contact the library if you are having difficulty. Make sure to include information about which film is affected and what equipment you are using.

Media Education Foundation Films

Media Education Foundation produces and distributes documentary films and other educational resources to inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media.

Digital Theatre+

Contains hundreds of films of British stage productions in high-definition that can be streamed as video on demand. Also includes behind-the-scenes documentaries and learning resources including introductions, plot summaries, character biographies, relationship maps, language analysis, scene studies, performance backgrounds, and historical contexts.

Partner companies include the Royal Shakespeare Company, Almeida Theatre, the Royal Court Theatre, the English Touring Theatre, Royal Opera House, English National Ballet, Opera North, L.A. Theatre Works, Frantic Assembly, Lyric Theatre (Hammersmith), the Young Vic, the Old Vic & the Open Air Theatre, Regent's Park.

Sage Counseling & Psychotherapy Video Collection

This collection of over 130 hours of video draws upon a vast network of SAGE’s authors and editors. It includes many tutorials, interviews, and demonstrations, along with many more films addressing practitioner issues.

Swank Digital Campus licenses an extensive catalog of mass-release films of all kinds. Contact the library for information about how to add additional films for teaching purposes. Films not already licensed for the current year will need to be ordered by a librarian, so please contact us as soon as the need is known so that we may assist you.

Swank Digital Campus

A limited selection of videos is available for JCU users on Swank Digital Campus. Contact the library for information about how to add additional films for teaching purposes.