Library Guides: Biology: Articles and Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete

Multi-disciplinary database with full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals, plus online books, videos, news/magazine articles, and more. Also, contains the library's catalog of locally held physical materials.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication

Covers everything from classic journal authoring topics such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.
Agricola

Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Annual Reviews
Collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (H.W. Wilson)

Full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and more.
BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. Contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5,500 international journals are monitored.
Derwent Innovations Index

Part of Web of Science, the Derwent Innovations Index analyzes, abstracts and indexes nearly 90,000 new patent publications every week. Provides unique value-added patent information indexed from over 50 patent issuing authorities.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index

Indexes and abstracts more than 300 core titles leading to articles about plants and gardens. Topics include horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. This index and abstract product is designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history.
Global Plants
The Global Plants database is a growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type specimens and related materials from community contributors around the world. It is a community-contributed database in which herbaria share their plant type specimens and experts determine and update plant names. The collection also includes partner-contributed reference works and primary sources, and serves an essential resource for research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies.

MEDLINE with full text (Ebsco)

A comprehensive index for medical journals, including full text for more than 1,370 journals.
Web of Science
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the top journals in the sciences. Includes the same for Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences.
Health Source: Consumer Edition

Includes information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source -Consumer Edition features searchable full text for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men?s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 590 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 627 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of journal content, books, images and primary sources covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science.
Kennedy Institute of Ethics Databases
Free databases from the National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature and the National Information Resource on Ethics and Human Genetics, including ETHXWeb, GenETHX, International Bioethics Organizations, Syllabus Exchange Database, and more.
National Center for Health Statistics
The nation’s principal health statistics agency compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the population. Includes data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical examinations and laboratory testing.
Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection

Composed of about 100 core nursing and allied health scholarly journals, published by Lippincott, Williams, & Wilkins and hosted on the search platform Ovid. All of these titles are fully indexed in the CINAHL database also.
PubMed

A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Science Reference Center

Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
SciFinder-n

Members of the JCU community must use their JCU email to create a username and password on campus prior to use using the link in the entry "SciFinder Registration Link" listed below. SciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature. You can search by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number. Using the CASDraw Editor or importing from ChemDraw, you can also search by chemical structures, substructures, or reactions.
SciFinder-n Registration link

JCU user must create an account from on campus before using SciFinder database. If you're not able to create an account from on campus or through VPN, please contact the library.
Springer Nature Experiments
An electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.

Compiles protocols from Humanas successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals, Springer Protocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab.