Try pairing search terms relating to the topic of your literature review. See below an example search in the database ERIC for articles about the campus engagement of college students by major.
Some examples of additional search terms I discovered in the process of researching this topic are:
Adding an asterisk (*) to the end of a word "tells" the database/search engine to find all variations of that word. Placing quotation marks around a phrase indicates to the system that you want to search these words as an exact phrase.
Example Search
Multi-disciplinary database with full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals, plus online books, videos, news/magazine articles, and more. Also, contains the library's catalog of locally held physical materials.
JSTOR is a digital library of journal content, books, images and primary sources covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science.
Streaming service for video content spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. It is the worlds largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. ERIC covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, it began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Also contains abstracts and book chapters from 1806-1966.
