Library Guides: Art History Subject Guide: Start Research Here

Search for Articles

Search for your topic in these databases first. They will help you find journal articles.

Art Full Text, 1984-
A comprehensive resource for art information with full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of journal content, books, images and primary sources covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science.
Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984
A comprehensive art database that covers many years which precede Art Full Text above. Also has many full-text articles.
Provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art (1973 - 2009)
A citation database (no full text) provided by the Getty Museum that covers European and American visual arts material from late antiquity to 2009. BHA indexes and abstracts 1,400 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, essays, exhibition catalogues, selected art dealers' catalogues, doctoral dissertations and microform publications.
From the J. Paul Getty Trust and CNRS-INIST from 1973-2009, covers the current international literature on the history of art in Europe and the New World. The database surveys the visual arts and material culture from late antiquity to 2010. Included are both the fine arts (architecture, sculpture, painting, drawing and prints) and decorative and applied arts (popular art, folk art). BHA indexes and abstracts 1,400 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, essays, exhibition catalogues, selected art dealers' catalogues, doctoral dissertations and microform publications.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database with full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals, plus online books, videos, news/magazine articles, and more. Also, contains the library's catalog of locally held physical materials.
Art & Architecture Complete
Includes full-text coverage for hundreds of periodicals dating back to 1937 and additional full-text for hundreds of books. Uniquely, Art & Architecture Complete contains selective coverage for nearly 60 additional publications and a robust collection of images provided by Picture Desk and others.

Oxford Reference: Art & Architecture
A collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books on art & architecture.

Credo Reference
An online reference service (dictionaries, biography, encyclopedias, readers, guides), providing quality reference content from many publishers. Image searching available.

Related Resources

Cleveland Museum of Art Library & Archives
The Ingalls Library and Museum Archives are the research center of the museum. We are open to the public and ready to help with your art historical research. With more than 560,000 volumes and extensive electronic resources, the Ingalls Library is one of the largest and most comprehensive art research libraries in the country.