Library Guides: Multimedia Resources: Art & Architecture

Art & Architecture Media Resources

These databases may include both the representations of media themselves, or history and criticism of art and media formats.

ARTStor on JSTOR
ARTStor is now integrated with JSTOR. It includes millions of high-quality images and media from the world’s top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research: you are free to use it in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
CDRI: Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
From the American Theological Library Association, CDRI is a repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries, including images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps and manuscripts.
Art & Architecture Complete
Includes full-text coverage for hundreds of periodicals dating back to 1937 and additional full-text for hundreds of books. Uniquely, Art & Architecture Complete contains selective coverage for nearly 60 additional publications and a robust collection of images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Art Full Text, 1984-
A comprehensive resource for art information with full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984
A comprehensive art database that covers many years which precede Art Full Text above. Also has many full-text articles.
Provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
Film and Television Literature Index w/ Full Text
Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing that was designed for use by film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. It includes Variety Movie reviews, with over 30,000 full text reviews. Also has a collection of over 20,000 classic color and black & white images of celebrity and entertainment photography.
Also has a collection of over 20,000 classic color and black & white images of celebrity and entertainment photography
International Children's Digital Library
An outstanding collection of digitized childrens' books, exemplifying illustration through history.
Getty Research Institute
The Getty Center & Museum provides many open access research tools for the visual arts. This includes digitized photos, archives, art works, books, articles and more, as well as catalogs of physical resources.
Library of Congress. Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.