Library Guides: Theology & Religious Studies Subject Guide: Journals & Databases

Databases for Theology and Religious Studies

Battersea Arts Center by Darren Johnson at: https://flic.kr/p/dyZsPH CC-BY-NC-ND-2.0

ATLA Religion Database

Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Covers the Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; and theology, philosophy, and ethics. Links into ATLASerials which offers full text for articles and book reviews.
JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of journal content, books, images and primary sources covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science.
Divinity Library Photographs (Yale University Digital Collections)
Consists of photographs from collections held at the Divinity Library. Currently the photographs in this collection relate primarily to missions and world Christianity. They include the Divinity Library's contributions to the International Mission Photography Archive hosted by the University of Southern California, as well as photographs previously delivered by the Library's China Colleges and Universities Image Database. The photographs date from 1855 to 1978.
Jesuit Online Bibliography
A free, collaborative, multilingual, and fully searchable database of bibliographic records for scholarship in Jesuit Studies produced in the 21st century. Provides citations, abstracts, subject categories, and direct links for books, book chapters, journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, conference papers, and other scholarly works related to the study of Jesuits and the Society of Jesus.
Religion and Philosophy Collection

The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With over 290 full text journals, the Collection is a fine tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Philosopher's Index

Citations to periodicals in the fields of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics and general philosophy.

Bloomsbury Library of Catholic Thought
Texts of the Jerome Biblical Commentary for the Twenty-First Century and the New American Bible; as well as monographs, primary sources, and images.
Ix Theo: Index Theologicus
An open-access site containing document descriptions from more than 600 periodicals and from Festschriften and congress publications. It is updated every night and represents the state of the preceding work day. Click on "Start the English Version."
Jesuit Online Bibliography
A free, collaborative, multilingual, and fully searchable database of bibliographic records for scholarship in Jesuit Studies produced in the 21st century. Provides citations, abstracts, subject categories, and direct links for books, book chapters, journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, conference papers, and other scholarly works related to the study of Jesuits and the Society of Jesus.
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries

One of the most trusted scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars. Draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world. Includes a book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha to make available all the significant historical and linguistic knowledge which bears on the interpretation of the Bible.

ARTStor on JSTOR

ARTStor is now integrated with JSTOR. It includes millions of high-quality images and media from the world’s top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research: you are free to use it in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.