Library Guides: Peace, Justice and Human Rights: Scholarly Articles

Find Articles

Academic Search Complete

Multi-disciplinary database with full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals, plus online books, videos, news/magazine articles, and more. Also, contains the library's catalog of locally held physical materials.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication

Covers everything from classic journal authoring topics such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.
African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Thousands of commentaries on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American and Native American history covering foreign reactions to America's struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond.
Civil Rights in America: From Reconstruction to the Great Society
Premier archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States from the 19th century through the 20th century.
GreenFILE

Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Making of America
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Minority Rights Group International
Authoritative books, reports, briefings and other materials, documenting the challenges faced by ethnic, religious and linguistic minorities and indigenous peoples worldwide.

MRG seeks as much as possible to ensure that our publications reflect the lived experiences of marginalized communities by commissioning minority and indigenous authors and incorporating first-hand accounts by minority and indigenous activists. We also strive to incorporate a wide range of intersectional perspectives, making sure that our publications document the challenges faced by marginalized groups within minority and indigenous communities, including minority and indigenous women and persons with disabilities.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Part of ICPSR, this database provides access to data on crime and justice with several large-scale datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Covers social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, presenting differing views in an accessible manner. Brings together pro/con viewpoints, articles from top newspapers, academic journals, images and infographics, magazines and websites. Helps learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Also includes materials related to the annual National Debate Topics.
Peace Research Abstracts

Covers topics related to peace analysis including conflict resolution, nonviolence, war, international affairs and peace psychology. Coverage dating back to 1964. Updated weekly.
Peace Research Abstracts

Covers topics related to peace analysis including conflict resolution, nonviolence, war, international affairs and peace psychology. Coverage dating back to 1964. Updated weekly.
Sage Data Foundations
Sage Data Foundations simplifies data analysis by providing an all-in-one resource for social science researchers and students to access statistics relevant to their areas of study. This replaces both SAGE Statistics and US Political Statistics.
TOPICsearch

Allows searching in the Ebsco databases by social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.