Library Guides: Biblical Studies Subject Guide: Databases for biblical studies

Analysis/Interpretation/Commentary

ATLA Religion Database
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, this is a core database for scholarly studies in all aspects of religion and theology, including Bible, archaeology, and antiquities. ATLA may also be used to find studies of a particular passage in the Bible.

Bible Odyssey
Hosted by the Society of Biblical Literature. Origins and events of the Bible are discussed by leading scholars.

Bloomsbury Library of Catholic Thought
The Jerome Biblical Commentary for the Twenty-First Century and The New American Bible; as well as images, primary sources, and monographs.
Grasselli Library Carrolline Catalog (via OPAL)
The Carrolline Catalog contains not only our physical holdings, but our digital and online holdings of books and films.
Ix Theo: Index Theologicus
An international bibliography for religion and theology.

Jerome Biblical Commentary for the Twenty-First Century
A current and leading Catholic commentary on the Bible.

JSTOR
Current and archived full-texts of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This database also hosts full-texts of books from university presses, which can also be accessed in Carrolline.
Philosopher's Index
Citations to articles in the various fields of philosophy.

The Pontifical Biblical Commission archive
A record of the official interpretation of the Bible by the Catholic Church.

Religion and Philosophy Collection
The body of full-text journals in religion and philosophy culled from the general topic database Academic Search Complete.
Web of Science
WoS is a citation index. A citation index enables the student to discover which later publications cited which earlier publications. The WoS allows for this type of searching in the sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
WorldCat
Find items in holdings of libraries worldwide.

New American Bible (Revised Edition)
The Catholic edition of the Bible revised in light of the ancient sources.

Annee Philologique
A database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilization.

Bible Odyssey
Hosted by the Society of Biblical Literature. Origins and events of the Bible are discussed by leading scholars.
Diotima
Resources for the study of women, class, and gender in the Ancient World.

Grasselli Library Carrolline Catalog (via OPAL)
The Carrolline Catalog contains not only our physical holdings, but our digital and online holdings of books.

New Testament Abstracts
A periodical that provides summaries of important new articles and books for New Testament studies. The summaries are arranged by themes, such as NT general, individual books of the NT, biblical theology, and NT world. The third issue of each year provides an index by biblical texts.
Old Testament Abstracts
A periodical that provides summaries of important new journal articles, book articles, monographs, and software for Old Testament studies. The summaries are arranged by themes, such as Ancient Near East, literary forms, and biblical theology. The third issue of each year provides an index by biblical texts.