Library Guides: Education & School Psychology Subject Guide: Introduction

Introduction

This guide collects resources for students doing research in Education courses at John Carroll. If you need any help, please contact us! Use the chat button on this page, or feel free to call or email us. You can also make appointments for 1:1 research consultations. We're here to help!

Core Databases for Education

Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It covers topics from early childhood to higher education, from multilingual education to health education.

This database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
As the world’s largest source of education information, ERIC contains abstracts and full-text documents and journal articles on education research and practice. It covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text indexes full-text articles with topics on government funding, instructional media, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, competency-based, and information technology.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 3,430 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership, providing users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.

Tests In Print (TIP) provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). For tests covered in both Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print, the database provides a single combined comprehensive record that combines Tests in Print Citation with the Mental Measurements Full Text Review.
Web of Science
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the top journals in the sciences. Includes the same for Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences.