Reference Sources: Introduction

An online reference service, providing quality reference content from many publishers. Image searching available.

A variety of electronic reference books from Gale/Cengage Learning.

Provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It contains everything in Literary Reference Center, plus thousands of additional journal/magazine articles and reference works.

Covers social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, presenting differing views in an accessible manner. Brings together pro/con viewpoints, articles from top newspapers, academic journals, images and infographics, magazines and websites. Helps learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Also includes materials related to the annual National Debate Topics.

A virtual reference room, Oxford Reference Online has more than 100 reference titles, including language, literature and subject dictionaries.

Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.

Contains thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Includes titles from ABC-CLIO, Gale, Macmillan, Saur, Scribner, Oxford University Press, Clarendon Press Sage, and Springer.

Electronic reference books from Salem Press in History, Literature, and Science.

Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Electronic books in scientific, technology, medical and business disciplines published by Springer, many of which are Reference books.