Library Guides: Films at Grasselli: Research / Film Studies

Film Criticism and History Articles

The following are recommended databases to start research in film studies, history, or criticism.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media. Includes or has links to full text.
Film and Television Literature Index w/ Full Text
Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing that was designed for use by film scholars, college students, and general viewers. It includes Variety Movie reviews, with over 30,000 full text reviews.
Also has a collection of over 20,000 classic color and black & white images of celebrity and entertainment photography
Art Full Text, 1984-
Covers a wide range of fine arts topics, including film, from 1984 onward. A comprehensive resource for art information with full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements.
Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984
Same as Art Full Text, but covers 1929-1984.
Provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
Academic Search Complete
General purpose database covering a wide variety of topics.

Online Reference Collections

Search these general online reference collections for general information, biographies, definitions, etc.:

Credo Reference
Search across over 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search over 300 encyclopedias and other reference materials.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Search more than 300 encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Online Books in Film Studies

To find online books, start your search from our home page. After searching, to the left of your results list, use the limiter "Source Type" and choose "eBooks" (you may need to click "show more" to see eBooks as a choice).

A Companion to Early Cinema by Nicolas Dulac (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781444332315
A Companion to the Historical Film by Robert A. Rosenstone (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781444337242