Library Guides: Philosophy: Scholarly Articles

Databases

19th Century British Pamphlets
Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. 19th Century British Pamphlets contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom. The digitization of more than 26,000 pamphlets brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database with full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals, plus online books, videos, news/magazine articles, and more. Also, contains the library's catalog of locally held physical materials.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
Covers everything from classic journal authoring topics such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.
ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Covers the Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; and theology, philosophy, and ethics. Links into ATLASerials which offers full text for articles and book reviews.
Credo Reference
An online reference service (dictionaries, biography, encyclopedias, readers, guides), providing quality reference content from many publishers. Image searching available.
Humanities International Complete
A comprehensive database providing citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works in journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Has cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles with coverage dating as far back as 1925 and more than 1.6 million records, and includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A peer-reviewed academic resource.
JSTOR Primary Sources
Primary source collections currently available on JSTOR are multidisciplinary and discipline-specific and include select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.
Philosopher's Index
Citations to periodicals in the fields of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics and general philosophy.
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With over 290 full text journals, the Collection is a fine tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.