Library Guides: Political Science: Scholarly Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database with full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals, plus online books, videos, news/magazine articles, and more. Also, contains the library's catalog of locally held physical materials.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
Covers everything from classic journal authoring topics such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.
American Legal Publishing Code Library
Codes for many local city/municipal and county governments, organized in a logical structure.
Ordinances and resolutions are reviewed to determine which provisions are of a general and permanent nature, and to determine if they have been repealed or superseded by more recent legislation. Once identified, these materials are then included in the code.
American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Thousands of commentaries on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American and Native American history covering foreign reactions to America's struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond.
Annual Reviews
Collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists, Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
Background Notes (US State Department)
Publications from the U.S. Dept. of State that include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty, updated rotationally.
Black Life in America
This collection covers many topical categories such as slavery and flights to freedom, voting rights and voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice and discrimination and activism and protest movements.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers, with information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC).
Civil Rights in America: From Reconstruction to the Great Society
Premier archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States from the 19th century through the 20th century.
Congress.gov (replaces Thomas)
U.S. Congress legislative information, including bills, resolutions, voting records, and more.
Contains information about bills and amendments. The summary and status information includes: sponsor(s); cosponsor(s); official, short and popular titles; floor/executive actions; detailed legislative history; Congressional Record page references; bill summary; committees of referral; reporting and origin; subcommittees of referral; links to other committee information provided by the House of Representatives; amendment descriptions (and text, when available); subjects (indexing terms assigned to each bill); a link to the full text versions and if the bill has been enacted into law, a link to the full text of the law on the Government Printing Office Web site (in both text and .PDF formats).
CultureGrams
A leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries, states, and provinces of the world. Includes information about economics, history, culture, climate, geography, populations, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Covers social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, presenting differing views in an accessible manner. Brings together pro/con viewpoints, articles from top newspapers, academic journals, images and infographics, magazines and websites. Helps learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Also includes materials related to the annual National Debate Topics.

Digital Public Library of America
Millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country. Includes primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.
GPO Monthly Catalog
Information products and services for all three branches of the Federal Government, including the official publications of Congress, the White House, and other Federal agencies in digital and print formats.
IMF eLibrary
Provides access to the IMFs periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
International Political Science Abstracts
Produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database covers nearly 900 journals published from 1975 to the present.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of journal content, books, images and primary sources covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science.
JSTOR Primary Sources
Primary source collections currently available on JSTOR are multidisciplinary and discipline-specific and include select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.
Legal Collection
This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Making of America
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Minority Rights Group International
Authoritative books, reports, briefings and other materials, documenting the challenges faced by ethnic, religious and linguistic minorities and indigenous peoples worldwide.
MRG seeks as much as possible to ensure that our publications reflect the lived experiences of marginalized communities by commissioning minority and indigenous authors and incorporating first-hand accounts by minority and indigenous activists. We also strive to incorporate a wide range of intersectional perspectives, making sure that our publications document the challenges faced by marginalized groups within minority and indigenous communities, including minority and indigenous women and persons with disabilities.
Mergent Market Atlas
A wealth of information on company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. Powerful and intuitive search capabilities combined with an easy to learn and use interface provide quick access to a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports.

National Center for Health Statistics
The nation’s principal health statistics agency compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the population. Includes data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical examinations and laboratory testing.
Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction: Global Perspectives, 1945-1996
Beginning at the end of World War II and continuing through the Cold War period and beyond, tools of radioactive, chemical, and biological warfare played a role in many of the 20th centurys most significant events. From the Cuban missile crisis to the Gulf War, the development, proliferation, and containment of weapons of mass destruction shaped technology, international conflicts, politics, and more. Researchers in a variety of disciplines will find no more comprehensive resource for studying these issues than Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction.
Ohio Administrative Code
Updated for all rules final, filed and adopted.
Ohio Revised Code
Includes all legislation filed with the Secretary of State's office through December 26, 2012.
Ohio Supreme Court & Judicial System
Ohio Supreme and District Court opinions back to 1992.
The Supreme Court of Ohio's searchable database for Supreme Court, Appellate districts, Court of Claims and Miscellaneous decisions from 1992.
Britannica Original Sources
Provides primary sources and personal accounts of humankind’s social, political, legal, and religious development, as well as some of the greatest discoveries, insights, and literary achievements in the words of the actual authors, discoverers, and knowledge-seekers. Find primary sources across twelve subject areas: World History, U.S. History, Political Science, Law, Literature, Science, Mathematics, Social Science, Philosophy, Religion, Language, and Language Arts.
Points of View Reference Center
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Public Affairs Index
Covers aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. Draws from aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. 19th Century British Pamphlets contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom. The digitization of more than 26,000 pamphlets brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.
RAND
The RAND Corporation is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous. RAND is nonprofit and nonpartisan.
Readex AllSearch: Your Gateway to Primary Sources
Discover and explore centuries of primary sources: books, pamphlets, newspapers, government documents, and more.
Sage Data Foundations
Sage Data Foundations simplifies data analysis by providing an all-in-one resource for social science researchers and students to access statistics relevant to their areas of study. This replaces both SAGE Statistics and US Political Statistics.
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
This collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region of Southern Africa, and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
U.S. Census Data
Data collected on people and businesses in the U.S., states, counties, & local areas.
U.S. Code
General and permanent laws of the United States. This is the code only. For an annotated edition, see Nexis Uni.
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 51 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.
U.S. House of Representatives
Official site of the US House of Representatives. Includes directory of representatives and legislative activity.
U.S. Major Dailies
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available stretching as far back as 1985 on the ProQuest platform.
U.S. Senate
Official site of the US Senate. Includes directory of senators and legislative activity.
World Heritage Sites: Africa
World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. These materials serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning.