Archived full-text historical journals, books, and newspapers from the 1830s through World War I. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Also includes American county histories, African American newspapers, and documents of the Women's Suffrage movement.
Written by African-Americans for African-Americans about cultural life and history during the 1800s. First-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, and early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
The over 36,000 items here contains the majority of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in America between 1639 and 1819. Series I and supplement is based on Charles Evans renowned American Bibliography while Series II and supplement makes available the items from American Bibliography 1801-1819 by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877. The collection was released in five series, all of which are searched simultaneously through this link.
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically important periodicals.
Bibliographic citations and abstracts covering the historical literature of the United States and Canada. For world history see Historical Abstracts.
Covers many topics related to culture, history, and life of indigenous peoples of North America, including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Covers the sixteenth century to the present.
Contains full-text content pertaining to the Caribbean area. Its scope covers Caribbean lifestyle and history and includes region-specific information.
This is a comprehensive collection of essays and miscellaneous works which cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
Indexes and abstracts scholarly literature on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. For U.S. and Canada see America: History and Life.
JSTOR is a digital library of journal content, books, images and primary sources covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science.