Library Guides: History Subject Guide: European/Ancient History

Primary Sources Databases

British Periodicals: Collection I
Contains more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
New York Times Historic, 1851-2012
First-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction: Global Perspectives, 1945-1996
Beginning at the end of World War II and continuing through the Cold War period and beyond, tools of radioactive, chemical, and biological warfare played a role in many of the 20th centurys most significant events. From the Cuban missile crisis to the Gulf War, the development, proliferation, and containment of weapons of mass destruction shaped technology, international conflicts, politics, and more. Researchers in a variety of disciplines will find no more comprehensive resource for studying these issues than Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction.
JSTOR Primary Sources
Primary source collections currently available on JSTOR are multidisciplinary and discipline-specific and include select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.
State papers online: the government of Britain, 1509-1714
A collection of English government documents, featuring office archives and correspondence and calendar entries. Covers English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy under the Tudor and Stuart monarchs and the Commonwealth.

Secondary Sources Databases

Central & Eastern European Academic Source
Provides a comprehensive full-text source of content pertaining to central and eastern European countries. It is a multidisciplinary, multilingual resource covering a variety of subject areas including history, business and law.
Essay and General Literature Index
This is a comprehensive collection of essays and miscellaneous works which cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
Indexes nearly 86,000 essays found in over 7,000 printed anthologies and collections with coverage dating as far back as 1985. Subject coverage includes archaeology, architecture, art, children's literature, classical studies, drama, economics, fiction, film, folklore, history, linguistics, music, poetry, political science, psychology and religion.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts scholarly literature on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. For U.S. and Canada see America: History and Life.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of journal content, books, images and primary sources covering a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science.
ATLA Religion Database
A good database for historical topics on religions and beliefs.
Jesuit Online Bibliography
Scholarship in Jesuit Studies produced in the 21st century.
Annee Philologique
A database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
Web of Science
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the top journals in the sciences. Includes the same for Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences.
WorldCat
Find items in holdings of libraries worldwide.