Library Guides: Poster Presentations: Adding Images

Logos and Brand Guidelines

Find university-approved colors, fonts, images, and logos.

Affiliate Organizations

Check the websites of affiliate and partner organizations for approved colors, fonts, and logos. Be sure to check any use permissions before including these in your poster. Contact the organization's communication and/or marketing department for more information.

File Types

To ensure your images are high-quality, use images with at least a resolution of 300 dots per inch (dpi). For more info. see Adobe's DPI Guide.
To decide between PNG, JPG, TIF, or other file types, see "Working with Images" by Moon Library.

Image Collections

BioIcons
Bioicons contains free science illustrations for biologists, chemists, machine learning under permissive CC0, CC BY or MIT license.
CC Search Portal
Media made available for use under Creative Commons licenses.
CMA's Open Access Collection
The Cleveland Museum of Art's open access collection of images of public-domain artworks from the museum, as well as metadata for the entire collection.
Disabled and Here Collection
This is a disability-led effort to provide free & inclusive stock images from the creators' own perspective, with photos and illustrations celebrating disabled Black, LGBTQ+, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC); includes social justice-themed images. See usage rules.
The Gender Spectrum Collection
A stock image collection that realistically depicts transgender and non-binary people managed by VICE.
Images of Empowerment
A free library of images celebrating women’s lives and their work in 13 countries around the world.
Nappy Media Collection
Nappy's mission is to provide "beautiful photos of Black and Brown people, for free. For commercial and personal use." Includes professional, high-quality photos, videos, GIFs, and more. See license information.
NIH Image Gallery
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) Image Gallery on Flickr provides images that are free to use with credit. Images are meant for use by the science and health community, the press that covers health and science, teachers and other educators in health and science and non-profit organizations that produce health and science information. It is not intended for commercial use.
NSF Multimedia Gallery
Collected by the US National Science Foundation.
OPENCLIPART
Over 180,000 vectorial graphics, entirely in the public domain.
Open Peeps
Free hand drawn illustration library.
Pexels
Free stock images.
PICNOI
Free stock images of people of color.
Pixabay
Free multimedia including images, audio, vector, etc.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). They welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. Note some images may be outdated.
Servier Medical Art and Images
Over 3,000 free, professional-grade medical images. See license information.
Unsplash
Free stock images.
World Digital Library
Collected by the Library of Congress. A collection of thousands of items from institutions all over the globe.

Copyright and Permissions

If you are not the original creator of the photo or other visual, be sure to check the item’s use permissions. Using visual content you did not create without permission or without appropriate citations may violate copyright law or JCU's academic honesty policies and procedures.

Citing Visual Content

APA Style

How to cite clip art and stock images in APA style. From the American Psychological Association (APA).

Creative Commons Licenses

How to cite content licensed under Creative Commons licenses.

MLA Style

How to cite an image. From the MLA Style Center.