This department is responsible for acquiring, providing access to, and maintaining the information resources of Grasselli Library and Breen Learning Center. This includes over 200,000 physical items and over 1 million digital titles encompassing ebooks, ejournals, and streaming media. Questions about acquisitions, gifts, and other inquiries about collections may be directed to the head of the department: Mina Chercourt (mchercourt@jcu.edu). Questions regarding technical issues and accessing electronic resources may be directed to Lauren Marshall (lmarshall@jcu.edu).
Popular Reading: This collection has novels, poetry, and short story collections for casual reading. Located in the library lobby near the main entrance.
DVDs: This collection contains both fiction and nonfiction films. Films are arranged by call number, with "popular" mass-market films arranged mostly by title in the PN1997 call number. Portable DVD players can also be checked out. See the Films guide for more information on these and other available film options. Located in the library's lobby by the main entrance.
Comics: Consists of a wide range of comics and graphic novels addressing many subjects. Arranged generally by title. Located in the library's lobby by the main entrance. Additional comics are located in the General Collection call numbers beginning at PN6700.
Master's Theses and Essays: Written by JCU students, arranged by department, then year, then author. Located in the McDonough study room on the third floor at the back of the Grasselli side.
Children's Literature: Award winning and classic children's books, including picture books, early readers, chapter books, etc. **Currently unavailable due to renovation.
Board Games: A small collection of games available for check out or use in the library. These are in the same area with DVDs and the Comics Collection in the library lobby.
Xavier Spiritual Reading: A browsing collection of spiritual, meditational and inspirational reading. Arranged generally by author and located on the third floor of Breen, at the rear corner of the Muir reading room. **Currently unavailable due to renovation.
Audiovisual Materials
The library prefers streaming media for academic films for the broader and timelier access streaming provides to the university community. Mass-market films may be purchased in DVD or streaming formats.
Faculty Works
The library strives to acquire copies of books written by JCU faculty members and has an agreement with its primary vendor to receive works published by JCU authors. However, some titles can be difficult to know about and to find, especially in the case of small or specialized publishers. Notification of an upcoming publication is always appreciated. Gifts of published faculty works not already owned by the library are welcome.
Textbooks
The library provides textbooks through its Textbook Sharing Program. It does not typically purchase textbooks for the permanent print collection.
Duplication of Content
Grasselli Library does not order multiple copies of titles. In addition, the library strongly prefers that content not be duplicated in different formats, e.g., electronic and print. Because electronic format is more accessible to multiple patrons, it is typically preferred over print. Selectors who request duplication of content should provide a substantive rationale to their library liaison, who will share that with Acquisitions.
Other
Grasselli Library does not order personal or departmental copies, does not preview items or buy materials on preview by individuals, and does not reimburse individuals for materials bought by individuals.