Note: In order to help preserve our important materials,
Special Collections is kept at 65º F (18º C) and low humidity.
It is cold! Wearing layers is strongly encouraged when using our materials.
Special Collections is closed, as of December 1, 2024, due to construction.
Welcome to Special Collections at John Carroll University. Click on the tabs above or navigation links to explore the resources available to support the information needs of students, faculty, and visiting researchers. For the most up-to-date information on Library policies, hours, and programming, please visit Grasselli Library and Breen Learning Center's website.
To schedule a research appointment with a librarian in person or via Zoom (video conferencing), please complete this form https://bit.ly/jculibrarianhelp.
If you are teaching a class and would like to schedule a time to have a librarian work with your students, please follow this link for more information: https://askthelib.jcu.edu/instruction/ or fill out this form: https://bit.ly/jculibinstruction, and a librarian will follow up with you.
John Carroll University Special Collections serves the research needs of the faculty and students of the University, and visitors worldwide.
Special Collections includes books, periodicals, rare books and incunabula (early printed books from the fifteenth century), prints, drawings, and manuscript materials. The bulk of JCU Special Collections represents the Robert John Bayer (1896–1956) Memorial Collection, purchased by the University in 1957. The collection's strengths are in Jesuitica, literature in English, nineteenth century publications, and contemporary (twentieth century) first editions. Special Collections is international in scope and includes materials in numerous languages.
JCU Special Collections is on the third (top) floor of the Grasselli Library and Breen Learning Center, located on the west side of Hamlin Quad.
Website
Grasselli Library Faculty and Staff Directory
Hours and Directions
Email: Special Collections
This guide was last updated in 2024 by Diane Dias De Fazio. Special Collections acknowledges the Marian Library at the University of Dayton, from whom much of this content was inspired.