Special Collections

Early Printed Books, 1450–1800

Early printed books collection includes the oldest books in John Carroll University's library, printed in Western Europe between 1450 and 1800 using movable metal type. Books in this collection are largely ecclesiastical. 

Chaloner-Haswell-Hopper-Clark Manuscripts Collection, 1720–1790

Manuscript legal documents, 29–65 x 39–75 cm, some bear wax seal impressions; all items on sheepskin parchment. Indentures, property deeds, rental agreements, probate documents. Most concern land on Newgate Street in Bishop Auckland, Durham County, England. Documents are accompanied by a typescript descriptive bibliography prepared by students in the JCU ENGLISH 200 class during the 1962–1963 academic year. 

Carroll-Caton family papers, 1816–1896, 1926

The collection primarily consists of correspondence by and to members of the Carroll and Caton families of Maryland. Authors include Mary Carroll Caton, Charles Carroll, Mary Ann Caton (Marchioness of Wellesley), Elizabeth Baroness Stafford Caton, Emily McTavish, Louisa Catherine Caton (Lady Hervey, Marchioness Carmarthen and Duchess of Leeds), the Duke of Leeds, and Baron Stafford.

Robert John Bayer Memorial Chesterton Collection

Books, journals, photographs, microfilm, manuscript materials, some artwork. Includes works by and about G. K. Chesterton (1874–1936), and by members of his "circle," Hilaire Belloc (1870–1973), Eric Gill (1882–1940), Frederick Rolfe ("Baron Corvo") (1860–1913), and Francis Thompson (1859–1907). 

Chesterton Collection Manuscripts

Collection consists of documentation of the purchase and acquisition of the Robert John Bayer Memorial Collection of Chestertoniana. Primarily consists of correspondence between JCU faculty, director, booksellers, and the Bayer family. 

Editorial cartoons pertaining to American politics and other topics / drawn by Charles Nelan and Robert Satterfield.

Six pen-and-ink drawings on wove paper, primarily by Charles Nelan (1859-1904); one drawing by Robert W. “Bob” Satterfield (1875-1958).

Grasselli Library Collection of Stanley S. Slotkin book leaves

Materials include twenty-one original leaves from antiquarian books, with accompanying facsimile title pages, on folio-sized colored paper display sheets. The display sheets were intended to be mounted and framed. 

Heltzel Collection of Lincolniana

Donated by alumnus, Robert E. Heltzel, Jr. ’70. Includes copies of the Declaration of the immediate causes which induce and justify the secession of South Carolina from the federal union (1860); a 24-volume set The Life and works of Abraham Lincoln (1905); The true story of Mary, wife of Lincoln (1928); and works by Theodore Roosevelt (1858–1919), George Catlin (1796–1872), and Walt Whitman (1819–1892). 

Joyce Kilmer Memorial Collection

Alfred Joyce Kilmer (1886–1918) was considered the foremost Catholic poet of his generation. Collection includes photographic prints, poetry, and other works by and inspired by Kilmer.