Skip to Main Content

JCU Special Collections

A guide to using John Carroll University's oldest and most valuable materials, dating to 1470!

Where's JCU Special Collections?

JCU Special Collections are at the University Heights Campus. Materials may be accessed in the Special Collections Reading Room, Room 324, located on the third (top) floor of Grasselli Library and Breen Learning Center. Look for the sign on the door!

Building Access

Grasselli Library and Breen Learning Center will fully reopen in Fall 2025!

Special Collections welcomes visitors, including those with no John Carroll University affiliation. 

During construction, JCU Special Collections is closed, and taking materials requests by appointment only. Appointments with faculty and staff may be scheduled at their discretion of Special Collections staff, and must be made at least 48 hours in advance. We are closed to all visitors on weekends and major holidays.

The main entrance to the building is accessible with automatic door openers.

This primary entrance includes ramps and elevator access between floors.

Accessible restrooms, bottle filling stations, and water fountains are available on all floors. 

Service animals are permitted and welcomed.

If there are any ways we can make the Library more accessible, please contact Allison Kaskey, Director of Student Accessibility Services, at awest@jcu.edu or 216-397-4967.

Can I borrow books and materials?

  • Books and materials in Special Collections don't leave the building, but may be reserved in advance. 
  • If you are a visitor with no John Carroll University ID or courtesy card, you may request to use these books and materials in the third-floor reading room by contacting Special Collections.

When should I schedule an appointment?

  • If you plan to use materials. 
  • If you are planning to visit from out of town, contact Special Collections in advance, to ensure that the materials and personnel are available. When you alert us to your visit, please also provide a list of materials you hope to consult.

How do I schedule an appointment?

  • Email ddiasdefazio @ jcu.edu or call 216-397-1622 and leave a message.

Wi-Fi for Guests and Visitors

Open wireless internet access is available to guests at John Carroll University.

Guest Internet Access 

Printing, Scanning, and Copying 

Printing and copying is not available for materials held by Special Collections.

Personal Devices

  • The use of phones, tablets and cameras for note-taking purposes, as long as library materials are not damaged in the process, is welcome. Camera flash, and portable scanners that come into contact with the materials (e.g., flatbed scanners) are not permitted.
  • The library can provide book weights, cradles, and other supports to facilitate safely photographing materials in the reading room upon request.

Services for JCU Students and Alumni/ae

  • See full services and policies here.