Library Guides: News, a Guide to Sources: General News Sources

Newspaper Collections

Get full-text articles from most major newspapers and wire services, and transcripts from radio and tv news programs from the links below.

Academic Search Complete
Among many other resources, search for newspaper articles by entering your search terms then using the filters at the left to limit to newspaper articles.
Access World News
Find global information on a wide range of topics from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Columbus Dispatch, Cleveland Plain Dealer Collection, USA Today and international sources.
Newspaper Source
Provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times (for a total of 194 full text newspapers and other sources).
Nexis Uni by LexisNexis
Contains content from print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, local, regional, national, and international newspapers with deep archives, extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
U.S. Major Dailies
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available stretching as far back as 1985 on the ProQuest platform.

Today's Front Pages
Front pages of national and international newspapers. Produced by Freedom Forum, a nonprofit organization advocating for First Amendment rights.

New York Times, 1980- current
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Wall Street Journal, 1984-current
Considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide, this file contains complete bibliographic information and also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas.