News - National & International - News, a Guide to Sources - Library Guides at John Carroll University

National News

New York Times, 1980- current
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Nexis Uni by LexisNexis
Contains content from print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, local, regional, national, and international newspapers with deep archives, extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
Plain Dealer Collection (1991-present)
Search more than 25 years of Cleveland history with the Plain Dealer Collection. Coverage from 1991 through current. Explore current and archived issues of the Plain Dealer with full-color newspaper pages and individual articles, as well as content only published online.
Wall Street Journal, 1984-current
Considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide, this file contains complete bibliographic information and also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas.
U.S. Major Dailies
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available stretching as far back as 1985 on the ProQuest platform.

International News

Access World News
Find global information on a wide range of topics from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Columbus Dispatch, Cleveland Plain Dealer Collection, USA Today and international sources.
Nexis Uni by LexisNexis
Contains content from print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, local, regional, national, and international newspapers with deep archives, extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.