News - Historical - News, a Guide to Sources - Library Guides at John Carroll University

Online Retrospective News

Accessible Archives (History Commons)
Archived full-text historical journals, books, and newspapers from the 1830s through World War I. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Also includes American county histories, African American newspapers, and documents of the Women's Suffrage movement.
Titles included in this collection: African American Newspapers – African American Newspapers in the South – American County Histories – American Inventor – Anatomy of Protest in America – Frank Leslie’s Weekly – Godey’s Lady’s Book – History of Woman Suffrage – National Anti-Slavery Standard – Native Americans in History – Quarantine and Disease Control – Reconstruction of Southern States – Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman – South Carolina Newspapers – The Civil War Collection – The Liberator – The Pennsylvania Gazette – The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue – The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record – The Virginia Gazette – The Woman’s Tribune – Twelve Years A Slave – Women’s Suffrage – World War I Military Camp Newspapers.
African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
New York Times Historic, 1851-2012
First-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
African American Newspapers
Written by African-Americans for African-Americans about cultural life and history during the 1800s. First-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, and early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
Wall Street Journal Historic, 1889-1998
Provides online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, business, society and events of the time.
Pennsylvania Newspaper Record
Documents the industrialization of predominantly agrarian culture established by Quaker farmers in the 18th century through articles, advertisements, and vital statistics from several area newspapers, providing insight into technology, business activity and material culture in a down-river milling and manufacturing community at the height of the Industrial Revolution.