Did you see a location in the catalog, but aren't sure where it is? This guide lists our Grasselli Library locations and where to find them within the library. There are two sides of the library buidling: Grasselli and Breen. Grasselli is the side on which the main entrance is located. Breen is the side after you cross the breezeways to the other side of the central courtyard reading garden.
Note: The main entrance of the library is actually on the second floor.
| Location Label | Building Location | Additional Notes |
|---|---|---|
| John Carroll General Collection: New Book Shelf | First Floor, near the Help Desk | This means a book has recently arrived at the library. If you don't see it on the shelf, ask at the Help Desk! |
| John Carroll General Collection, Call numbers A-F | Second Floor, Breen | |
| John Carroll General Collection, Call numbers G-PG | Third Floor, Grasselli | Attention: this area will be closed due to construction until further notice |
| John Carroll General Collection, Call numbers PH-Z | Third Floor, Breen | |
| John Carroll Media Collection | First Floor, near the Help Desk | DVDs (fiction and nonfiction) |
| John Carroll Comics Collection | First Floor, near the Help Desk | Comics arranged by title, generally |
| John Carroll Archives | Attention: this area will be closed due to construction until further notice | Recommend contacting them first at archives@jcu.edu |
| John Carroll Children's Lit | Second Floor, Breen, at the front of print book shelving | In order by author's last name, then book title |
| John Carroll Equipment & Laptops | First Floor, Grasselli Help Desk | |
| John Carroll Games | First Floor, near the Help Desk | |
| John Carroll Library Offices | Multiple locations, Ask at Help Desk | |
| John Carroll McDonough Study Room | Third Floor, Grasselli at back of building |
Theses are organized by subject, then year, then last name of the author Attention: this area will be closed due to construction until further notice; |
| John Carroll Microforms | In Special Collections: Ask at the Help Desk |
Attention: this area will be closed due to construction until further notice; |
| John Carroll Periodicals | Third Floor, Breen |
At the very end of other call numbers (after "Z" books) by the far wall of the library |
| John Carroll Popular Reading | First Floor, near the Help Desk | |
| John Carroll Reserves / Permanent Reserves | First Floor, at the Help Desk | |
| John Carroll Special Collections | Third Floor, Grasselli, near top of main stairs | Attention: this area will be closed due to construction until further notice; Access to materials by appointment only. Contact Special Collections for information. |
| John Carroll Xavier Collection | Third Floor, Breen, at the back corner of the large reading room |
Generally in order by author's last name |