Grasselli Library and Breen Learning Center provides extensive resources to support students in both electronic and physical formats. This year, in response to student requests, the library added a Popular Reading collection to its other browsing collections. Our textbook sharing program continues to be the most heavily used physical collection in the library in terms of use per item. In all, the library added over 38,000 electronic resources and about 2700 physical items to its collections during the 2022-2023 academic year. The OhioLINK and OPAL consortia to which the library belongs added a further 90,000+ electronic items to their collections. See the most popular electronic resources at the bottom of this page.
The textbook sharing program provides students with textbooks to use in the library for many JCU courses with high enrollment. Students can read in the library or scan in chapters to email themselves to read later. Student tour guides in the library can often be heard commenting on the ways the library saves them money. With the average cost of a textbook being about $105, and business textbooks typically costing even more, it's not surprising that students used our 53 different textbook titles over 350 times over the year, with business being the most heavily used group.
The John Carroll community benefits tremendously from Grasselli Library's membership in OhioLINK. Our membership provides access to hundreds of thousands of electronic resources as well as print borrowing privileges at universities state-wide. Last year JCU students, faculty and staff downloaded over 91,000 articles and books from OhioLINK resources, and checked out 768 books from our partner schools.
